Other News

More news for your entertainment

Story abound in the latest Star Wars Battlefront II trailer

Lucasfilm and Electronic Arts have dropped a new story trailer for Star Wars Battlefront II's single player campaign. Players will step into the boots of Imperial Iden Versio, leader of the Inferno Squadron as they seek to reclaim their spot atop the galactic food chain, after the destruction of the second Death Star.

It's no secret that Iden Versio and Inferno Squad will be crossing paths with some of the galaxy's most renowned characters, but they'll also be encountering elements that are originally from other Star Wars stories. There are multiple mediums, comics, novels, television, films, games, and more, that tell new or unique stories that take place within the Star Wars universe. Star Wars Battlefront II helps enrich the universe by telling a previously untold story that is able to build upon what has already been established.

Players can experience this when the game is released on PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC on November 17th, if you want to learn more about Iden and her backstory, check out the official blog post.

The Civilization VI Spring update is here

2K have announced that the Spring update for Civilization VI is out now for PC, with the Mac and Linux version to come soon. The update adds new features and fixes issues that players have reported with the game. Click here to see all the changes and additions.

The Khmer and Indonesia Civilization & Scenario Pack is also available starting today. This premium DLC adds Khmer, led by Jayavarman, Indonesia, led by Gitarja and new scenario, ‘Path to Nirvana’, to Sid Meier’s Civilization VI.

The Premium DLC can be purchased here, if you want to add it to your game.

Worlds collide in World of Tanks Blitz

Wargaming has announced that World of Tanks Blitz is kicking off a special event today, in partnership with Games Workshop and their legendary series, Warhammer 40,000.

Players will soon be able to lead the charge with indomitable Space Marines—the finest fighting force of the Imperium of Man. Taking part in “Macragge's Thunder” event, starting today, recruits get their hands on two iconic vehicles: the Vindicator and the Predator, both sporting the colors of Ultramarines, one of the most famous Space Marine Chapters. Players can also earn the camo of two other Chapters of great renown: Imperial Fists and Dark Angels.

To put the Vindicator and the Predator in their Garages and win a wealth of credits, tankers need to earn Ultramarines, Imperial Fists, and Dark Angels Emblems in battles, and use these special currencies to complete three stages of “Macragge’s Thunder”. Going through the three additional stages will provide the most stalwart tankers with lots of assorted boosters, a load of spare parts, and the camo of the Imperial Fists and Dark Angels for both Space Marine vehicles. During the event, Big and Huge Bonus Containers will offer a small chance to get the Ultramarines’ Vindicator or Predator outright.

“By launching the ‘Macragge’s Thunder’ event, we’re saluting all tankers and Warhammer 40,000 fans,” says Andrey Ryabovol, World of Tanks Blitz Publishing Product Director at Wargaming. “We know these two groups overlap—being brothers in arms and waging war unites World of Tanks Blitz and the grim dark future of Warhammer 40,000. Now players can fight like the best Space Marines in World of Tanks Blitz and earn the privilege of driving the vehicles of distinguished Chapters—in the Emperor’s name!”

The “Macragge’s Thunder” event will run from October 17 to November 18. During the event, tankers can access the special “Macragge” map set on the home planet of the Ultramarines, and everyone’s Garage will look like a Space Marine landing zone from Warhammer 40,000 with scattered drop pods.

A quick look at some of the women's players in Ashes Cricket

With today kicking of the first of seven games between the Australian and English Women's Cricket teams for the Women's Ashes, Big Ant have released some new shots of two of the ladies from the sport.

These shots are designed to show players the level of detail being paid to the Women's players, which have been known in years past from other sports to be a token inclusion.

 “Women’s cricket is rightfully growing in popularity across the world, and we wanted to do our part to highlight the incredible athleticism of the sport through Ashes Cricket,” Big Ant CEO, Ross Symons said. “We’re looking forward to a thrilling competition between the women’s teams on the field this year, and we’re also looking forward to enabling gamers to decide the fate of their very own virtual Ashes.”

Just like with the men’s teams, Big Ant Studios have invested in creating photorealistic renders of each of the players involved in the Ashes for the game. Full motion capture sessions have also taken place in order to ensure the flow of each batsman’s swing and bowler’s action is as authentic as in real life.

“We first included women players and teams in Don Bradman Cricket 17, and it was a feature that players really appreciated,” Symons said. “The inclusion of the female teams gives even more depth and variety to the game. It’s been a privilege working with each of the players to further enhance what we can offer gamers with the women’s competition in Ashes Cricket.”

Players will also be able to play through the full career mode as a woman, just as they will for the men’s game, bringing a rookie up through the ranks until they finally earn the opportunity to represent their nation in the greatest competition in cricket.

Ashes Cricket will be available on PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC on November 16, 2017

Party Golf is out now for Nintendo Switch

For the second time in as many weeks, Switch is now host to another golf game, but this ain't your regular golf, this is Party Golf and like the other golf game, this was also made in Australia.

Party Golf was created as a competitive couchplay game for all ages and skill levels to enjoy.  With over a trillion gameplay combinations to try, there’s definitely something in Party Golf for every player. 

Party Golf’s Lead Game Designer, Ian Lewis, says “we love that Party Golf has been played in lounge rooms and at parties all over the world, and now to have it on the Nintendo Switch which is the perfect platform for local multiplayer games, will only increase the places we will now hear the yells of excitement and frustration we love so much!”

So grab some mates, grab your Nintendo Switch, and come and try the endless gameplay combinations that will stretch friendships and definitely cause some shouting along the way.

Mafia the 'OG' is available now on GOG

2K are celebrating the 15th anniversary of Mafia, by re-releasing the original game on GOG, making it compatible with modern PC's for the first time, you can get the game for yourself right here.

2K Czech Studio Director Roman Hladik released a statement about the original game, which you can read in full here, but the most intersting part is this.
“At the very beginning, there were just five of us – game development teams were not much bigger back then. We started to develop a fantasy RPG game, but after a gaming tradeshow, we decided to change direction. [There were way too many other fantasy RPGs on the market at the time.] We put our heads together again. We’d been thinking about the games we play ourselves and how to combine all these different game mechanics. If we’re being honest, our mission became designing the game that we wanted to play.”

The game is a classic and it will be interesting to see how it olds up over the years.